College Station, Saturday, January 25, 2014:

Following an extremely successful event in 2013, NWTF’s 2014 Texas State Turkey Calling Championship was again hosted by Gander Mountain’s College Station store. This annual statewide event featured five divisions and a total awards package eclipsing last year’s contest, with competitors taking home more than $3,000 in Trophies, Cash, Gift Cards, and Merchandise.  First, second, and third place “State Map Design” trophy plaques were presented in all divisions by Lou Von Woglom, Contest Co-Coordinator.

State Division: “Barton Repeats as State Champion”

Duplicating last year’s victory in the State Division, Aaron Barton of Lampasas once again out-called a strong group of competitors to claim the coveted title of “Texas State Turkey Calling Champion” by posting a winning score of 268. Former Two-time State Champ, Shaine Nixon of Diana, took second with a score of 262, as up-and-coming caller, Cade Hayley of Winnsboro, finished 3rd at 254.  This year’s solid group of callers displayed an outstanding array of Texas wild turkey vocalizations. Aaron was awarded top prize money of $500 cash to help with his expenses in representing Texas at the 2015 Grand National Calling Contest in Nashville.

Open Division

Shaine Nixon of Diana, scored 268 to take first place, and received a $400 Gander Mountain Gift Card. Aaron Barton placed 2nd with a score of 257, while Cade Haley’s score of 255 nailed down the 3rd place award. 

Friction Division

With extremely close scoring in the FRICTION DIVISION, Aaron Barton again took first with a 258 total, while second and third places were shared by Nixon family members, with “Papa” Shaine scoring 256 to secure 2nd place, as daughter, Marlaina, barely missed the second spot, scoring 255 to finish 3rd.  Barton received a $300 Gander Mountain Gift Card as Friction Division winner. 

Hunter Division

The HUNTER DIVISION saw winner, Maleigha Nixon, score 198, thereby defeating both Hunter Nixon’s 157 and Hunter Dobbins’ 152, to receive a $100 Gander Mountain Gift Card.

Junior Division

Excellent competition in the JUNIOR DIVISION was evident as Winnsboro’s Cade Haley took home a $100 Gander Mountain Gift Card, scoring 208 to out-call Maleigha Nixon’s 185 and McKenna Nixon’s 175, in topping the 17 years and under JAKES group of callers.

Special thanks go out to our entire calling contest support team, led by Diana Linder, Mindy Bailey, Tom Grahmann, & Bobby Engledow, who collectively performed the Registration and Score Tabulating duties. Steve Peters, Event Co-Coordinator/M.C.- Robert Linder, Dr. Sam McManus, David Konarik, and Mike Patrick, served as judges for the event. Set up support was provided by R.D. Mike Shouse, Cecil Stevenson, & Tony Hawley. “ A Job well done” also goes to Larry Noble of College Station, our main contact with Gander Mountain’s Store Manager, Scott Dickey, who along with his staff, provided event sponsorship and pre-event publicity.

Article submitted by Robbie Vicent - State Contest Co-Coordinator